Talgarth is situated in the county of Powys, South Wales. Talgarth, meaning “foot of the hills”, is nestled at the foot of the Black Mountains in the Brecon Beacons National Park. The rivers Ennig and Ellywe converge in the town before joining the Afon Llynfi to the west of the market town.
Talgarth is 4 miles north of the beautiful Llangors Lake and just 7 miles south west of the book town of Hay-on-Wye.
At the heart of Talgarth, powered by the flow of the River Ellywe, you will find Melin Talgarth Mill, a fully restored, 18th century Flour mill. The Mill offers 'Guided Tours' by a dedicated team of volunteers, and a wonderful Bakery & Cafe, the 'Bakers Table'.
The parish church, dedicated to St Gwendoline, dates back to the 14th century. It was later restored in 1873 and the organ was recently moved to the North section to make way for the present Lady Chapel. Stained glass has been placed in this chapel in memory of the Francis and Jones families. Interestingly, this was the same church where Welsh Methodist leader Howell Harris was converted on Palm Sunday, 1735.
Harris travelled all over Wales to preach about his beliefs. Sometimes, to avoid interference, these preachings would take place at midnight or in the early hours of the morning. In December 1752, he founded a society at nearby Trefecca, which 120 members joined. The society gave up private possessions and decided to live in a shared community, with religion playing a large role. Four services were held every Sunday and three each weekday. Howell Harris died in 1773 but his name lives on in the Methodist world.