The village of Pumsaint sits on the A482 road midway between Lampeter and Llanwrda in the county of Carmarthenshire, South Wales. Pumsaint sits at the confluence of the Afon Twrch and the Afon Cofi, and lies south east of Ffaldybrenin, north of Crugybar, north west of Caio and north east of Rhydcymerau.
For such a small rural community Pumsaint has a good number of facilities: a Post Office; a pub and restaurant - the Dolaucothi Arms; a Visitor Centre; an agricultural merchant - DW Lewis; waymarked walks and cycle hire.
However Pumsaint's main attraction must be the Roman Gold Mine which lies on the outskirts of the village. The Dolaucothi Gold Mines are set amid wooded hillsides and overlook the beautiful Cothi Valley.
The Romans exploited the site almost 2000 years ago and left behind a complex of pits, channels, adits and tanks. Mining resumed in the 19th century and continued through the 20th century, reaching a peak in 1938. Guided tours take visitors through the Roman and the more recent underground workings.
Gold-panning gives visitors the opportunity to experience the frustrations of the search for gold.