Bodelwyddan is a village lying 7 miles south east of Abergele in the county of Denbighshire, North Wales. It is bordered by Rhuddlan to the north east, St George to the west, Rhuallt to the east and Groesffordd Marli to the south. Nearby towns and villages include St Asaph, Rhyl, Towyn, Colwyn Bay, Prestatyn and Denbigh. The A55 expressway also passes through Bodelwyddan.
One of the most notable buildings in Bodelwyddan is St Margaret's church, popularly known as the Marble church. The church was constructed in 1856 by renowned architect John Gibson. Following the death of Baron Willoughby de Broke of Compton Verney, Warwickshire, in 1852, his wife Margaret, the third daughter of Sir John Williams, occupier of Bodelwyddan Castle, returned to the area. She wished to have a church built in Bodelwyddan that would not only act as a memorial to the Baron but would also stand out from other churches in the area. By 1860 the building was completed, built mainly from limestone. It still remains a beautiful and unique landmark in the village today.
Across the A55 from the Marble church stands Bodelwyddan Castle. It was built by the aristocratic Humphreys family in 1460, before passing on to the Wynn-Williams family in the late 17th century. However, like many churches in the country, the building was restored heavily during the 19th century by Sir John Hay Williams. He wrote in 1829 that, during a period of refurbishment, human bones were found near one of the chimneys. They were built back into the wall, which means they remain there to this day. During the 1920s the castle acted as a prestigious girls' school, before closing in 1982 due to financial problems. Today it is a sister gallery to the National Portrait Gallery and attracts many visitors each year.